University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer

VandalStar

U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

Contact

College of Agricultural & Life Sciences

Physical Address:
E. J. Iddings Agricultural Science Laboratory, Room 52
606 S Rayburn St

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2331
Moscow, ID 83844-2331

Phone: 208-885-6681

Fax: 208-885-6654

Email: ag@uidaho.edu

Location

CALS IDEA Initiatives

The CALS IDEA committee was established to review the climate and culture within the college and identify opportunities for improvement. A CALS climate survey was administered in spring 2021 to collect baseline data and areas of growth. Based on this survey, the following areas for improvement were identified:

  • Emphasizing respect for and value of all
  • Improving recruitment efforts for diversity in staff and students
  • Strengthening the connectivity between off-campus and on-campus faculty and staff
  • Avoiding gender stereotypes
  • Increasing efforts to accommodate access
  • Avoiding political references in classroom and office discussions

The following subcommittees have been formed to address these areas. If you are interested in participating in any of these committees, contact Cathy Roheim at croheim@uidaho.edu with a statement of your interests.

  • Dialogue circles
  • Inclusive recruiting and onboarding
  • Building affinity group awareness
  • Fostering inclusive classroom climates
  • Improving relations on and off campus

CALS IDEA committee members:

Ariel Agenbroad, ariel@uidaho.edu
Ann Barrington, abarrington@uidaho.edu
Charity Buchert, charity@uidaho.edu
Erin Chapman, chapman@uidaho.edu
Justin Clements, justinclements@uidaho.edu
Surine Greenway, surineg@uidaho.edu
Chris Hamilton, hamiltonlab@uidaho.edu
Jackie Amende-Lewis, jamende@uidaho.edu
Barbara Petty, bpetty@uidaho.edu
Cathy Roheim, croheim@uidaho.edu
Carly Schoepflin, craska@uidaho.edu
Nic Usabel, nusabel@uidaho.edu

Dialogue Circle

Register Today | view flyer.pdf

  • Jan. 24
    1-3 p.m. PT/2-4 p.m. MT
    Book Study Part I: So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeomo Oluo
  • Feb. 18
    9-11 a.m. PT/10 a.m.-noon MT
    Book Study Part II: So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeomo Oluo
  • March 9
    2-4 p.m. PT/3-5 p.m. MT
    Walking in Two Worlds with guest speaker Danielle Scott
  • March 31
    10 a.m.-noon PT/11 a.m.-1 p.m. MT
    Analysis Before Action: Establishing Long-term Change with guest speakers Craig Pickett and John Toman
  • April 18
    9-11 a.m. PT/10 a.m.-noon MT
    Allyship — The Key to Unlocking the Power of Diversity with guest speaker Ken Feaster-Eytchison

Upcoming Events

Contact

College of Agricultural & Life Sciences

Physical Address:
E. J. Iddings Agricultural Science Laboratory, Room 52
606 S Rayburn St

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2331
Moscow, ID 83844-2331

Phone: 208-885-6681

Fax: 208-885-6654

Email: ag@uidaho.edu

Location