University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer


U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

Athena Women of the Year

The following are past Women of the Year Award recipients who have demonstrated clear and sustained dedication to women’s professional enhancement at the University of Idaho.


Leda Kobziar, Associate Professor of Wildlife Fire Science
Mercedes Frausto, Academic Success Counselor 


Leslie Baker, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Geological Sciences
Lynsie Clott, Assistant Director of the Department of Student Involvement


Kristin Henrich, Associate Professor, Interim Associate Dean and Head of User and Research Services, University of Idaho Libraries
Leontina "LT" Hormel, Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology


Summer Howard, Customer Service Lead, Parking and Transportation Services
Laura Holyoke, Associate Professor, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences
Barbara Petty, Associate Dean, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences


Evelina Arevalos-Martinez, Director, College Assistance Migrant Program
Christine Moffitt, Professor and Assistant Unit Leader, Idaho Cooperative, Fish and Wildlife Research Unit


Cori-Mantle Bromley, Dean of the College of Education (retired)
Mary D. Stout, Assistant to the Provost & Executive Vice President
Holly Wichman, University Distinguished Professor, Biological Sciences and Director, Center for Modeling Complex Interactions


Dr. Jodi Johnson-Maynard, Professor, Department of Plant, Soil and Entomological Sciences


Angelique Eaglewoman, Associate Professor of Law
Sally Graves Machlis, Professor and Program Chair, Art & Design
Ellen McKenzie, Management Assistant, College of Art & Architecture


Jeanne Stevenson, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Monique Lillard, Associate Professor of Law
Jennie Hall, Assistant to the Dean, College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences


Elizabeth Barker Brandt, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and James R. Wilson Distinguished Professor of Law
Brenda Helbling, Executive Assistant to the Provost
Carmen Suarez, Director of Human Rights, Access and Inclusion.


Heather Shea Gasser, Director of the Women's Center


Debbie Storrs, Associate Dean of the College of Letters, Arts & Social Sciences
Lynn Baird, Dean of the Library
Patty Houle, Executive Assistant to the President


Karen Guilfoyle, Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
Charlotte Eberlein, Associate Vice President for University Extension, and Director of UI Extension
Joyce Davidson, Customer Support Manager, Information Technology Services


No awards given.


Nancy Young, Associate Professor, Reference Librarian
Nilsa Bosque-Perez, Professor, Entomology - PSES
Margrit von Braun, Dean, Graduate School


Kathe Gabel, Professor, School of Family and Consumer Sciences
Nancy Wanamaker, Director, School of Family and Consumer Sciences
Leslee Yaryan, Assistant to the President


Janice Fletcher, Professor, Margaret Ritchie School of Family and Consumer Sciences
Linda Morris, Provost, University of Idaho Provost's Office
Betsy Thomas, Job Locator/Counselor, Student Financial Aid


Mary DuPree, Professor, Lionel Hampton School of Music
JoEllen Force, Department Head and Professor, Department of Forest Resources
Reta Pikowsky, Registrar, University of Idaho Registrar's Office


Katherine Aiken, Professor, History Department
Sandra Haarsager, Associate Dean, College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences
Kay Keskinen, Database Manager, Information Technology Services
*A special recognition award was also given to Georgia Yuan, a long time Athena member who was leaving to serve as counsel for Smith College.


Linda Kirk Fox, Director, Margaret Ritchie School of Family and Consumer Sciences
Joanne Reece, Assistant Vice President, Facilities