University of Idaho - I Banner
A student works at a computer

VandalStar

U of I's web-based retention and advising tool provides an efficient way to guide and support students on their road to graduation. Login to VandalStar.

Committee Information

The Institutional Review Board protects the rights of humans in research and maintains confidentiality of data. History has demonstrated the need for appropriate oversight, which resulted in the regulations we have today.

Activities that may require IRB review and approval:

  • Surveys and questionnaires
  • Interviews and focus groups
  • Collecting or using data about humans
  • Use of human tissues/specimens
  • Activities involving interaction or intervention with human subjects
  • Data about identifiable living persons when the data is not publicly available
  • Data or samples that can be linked to an identifiable living person

See FSH 1640.54 and 5200 for a detailed description of IRB functions, membership and human subjects research.

IRB Meeting Schedules

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) meets at 9 a.m. on the first Tuesday of the month during the academic calendar year and as needed during the summer months. Should you wish to attend the meeting, please contact the Office of Research Assurances to verify the meeting time, date and location. You may reach us at 208-885-6340 or irb@uidaho.edu.

Please note that protocols must be submitted a week prior to the meeting date.

Fall 2020

  • October 6
  • November 3
  • December 1

Spring 2021

  • January 5
  • February 2
  • March 2
  • April 6
  • May 4

Committee Members

Sharon Stoll, IRB Chair

Faculty - Health Education P.E. Recreation and Dance
End of Term: 2021
208-885-2103, sstoll@uidaho.edu

Julie Fodor

Faculty - Center on Disabilities and Human Development
End of Term: 2022
208-885-6128, jfodor@uidaho.edu

Travis Paveglio

Faculty – Natural Resources and Society 
End of Term: 2023
208-885-9455, tpaveglio@uidaho.edu

Janice Smith-Hill

Community member - Non-Scientist
End of Term: 2021

Todd Thorsteinson, IRB Vice-Chair

Faculty - Psychology and Communication Studies
End of Term: 2023
208-885-4944, tthorste@uidaho.edu

Russell Baker

Faculty – Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2021
208-885-2065, russellb@uidaho.edu

Cassidy Hall

Faculty – Curriculum & Instruction
End of Term: 2021
cassidyh@uidaho.edu, 208-885-9084

 

Alternate Members

Steffen Werner

Alternate, Faculty – Psychology and Communication Studies
End of Term: 2021
208-885-9241, swerner@uidaho.edu

Kenneth Wallen

Alternate, Faculty – Natural Resources and Society
End of Term: 2021
208-885-7132, kwallen@uidaho.edu

Anne Kern

Alternate, Faculty – Curriculum & Instruction
End of Term: 2021
208-292-1402, akern@uidaho.edu

Joshua Bailey

Alternate, Faculty – Department of Movement Sciences
End of Term: 2023
208-885-1054, joshuabailey@uidaho.edu

Carrie Roever

Community Member - Non-Scientist
End of Term: 2022

 

Special Members

Joseph De Angelis

Prisoner Specialist: Voting member only for prisoner-related protocols 
Faculty – Sociology and Anthropology 
End of Term: 2021
208-885-6705, jtdeangelis@uidaho.edu

Dustin Worth

Medical Specialist: Voting member only for medical-related protocols 
Clinical Medicine Coordinator – WWAMI Educational Program
End of Term: 2021
208-885-6696, dworth@uidaho.edu

Kristine Levan

Alternate, Prisoner Specialist: Voting member only for prisoner-related protocols
Faculty – Sociology and Anthropology
End of Term: 2021
208-885-1996, klevan@uidaho.edu

 

Non-Voting Members

Audrey Harris

Associate Director, Office of Research Assurances
208-885-4054, ajharris@uidaho.edu

Jennifer Neelon

IRB Coordinator, Office of Research Assurances
Ex-Officio
208-885-6340, jneelon@uidaho.edu

Arch Harner

Director, Office of Research Assurances
Ex-Officio
208-885-1074, aharner@uidaho.edu

Office of Research Assurances

Physical Address:

Morrill Hall Room 414
Moscow, ID  83844

Mailing Address:
875 Perimeter Dr., MS 3010
Moscow, ID  83844-3010

Phone: 208-885-6162

Email: ored-ora@uidaho.edu

Web: ORA Website

Map